How can I improve my life?

In a recent post, I wrote a little about how people might have had a incorrect perception of my “perfect” life. Truth is, my life is far from perfect. I stumble, I fall… but I do get back up every-single-time! I succeed, because I fail!

As I begin taking a look at what has happened over this past year in my life, I’m absolutely amazed. No, I’ve not amassed a great fortune of wealth. No, I’ve not won an international award. However, I have had a year full of amazing strides forward in my life.

How did that happen?

It seems so simple, but I’ve moved forward in my life because I was intentional!

In January 2015, I set three primary goals for myself for the year:

  1. Increase my annual earnings by 30%
  2. Complete the Indy Mini (half-marathon)
  3. Develop a closer relationship with Jesus

While I haven’t quite reached the 30% mark during 2015, the compensation I’ve received coupled with the contracts I’ve signed going into the new year puts me at roughly 27%.

In May, I completed my first-ever official distance event by finishing the Indy Mini Marathon! My training, while not what it should have been, put me in a position to finish the event. I didn’t meet my time goal, mostly due to leg cramps for about 7 miles of the 13.1 miles. However, I FINISHED… I completed THIRTEEN POINT ONE MILES!!! Considering a little more than 4 years ago, I was nearly 300lbs at 5’7″ and couldn’t even make it up a flight of stairs without having to sit down… I consider this a total win! I also owe a debt of gratitude to my buddy Jeff, for inspiring me to enter the event… and then being there with me through every step along the path!

And finally, over this past year my wife and I have become involved with a new church. This has led to new opportunities to grow, and advance in our knowledge, faith, and fellowship. We’ve completed some servant-leadership training, and have welcomed a small-group into our home each week. My prayer life is abundant, and being answered regularly. I know that God has many more plans for me, but I’m so very excited with the closer relationship I have with Him!

My point in sharing all of this is not to say, “look at me and my accomplishments.” It’s to say that planning in an intentional way, makes a difference!

Let me take you back to January 2015: I sat down and wrote out what I wanted to accomplish. I worked on it, honed it, and became very specific about those goals. I sat out weekly actions that would get me to those accomplishments. I shared those goals and actions with people I trusted to advise me, support me, and hold me accountable.

Advice, Support, and Accountability are significant keys to success!

If you aren’t getting where you want to be in life, work, education, etc., then reach out to someone you trust for advice and start there. If you don’t have someone you are comfortable with, feel free to contact me to help you figure out a positive next step for yourself. I do not like the thought of anyone floundering through this on their own.

I desire to be of help to others, whether it be through the words I write here in a blog post, links to articles I might share, inspirational quotes for a quick boost of motivation, or even the development of a personal relationship and real-time conversation. We all have something to contribute, and within this blog site I hope you find something that helps you improve your life!

Life can be complicated, but it can also be so very rewarding!

Leave a Reply

